1hr Medway River Trip

£18.00

A 1hr Sailing Trip from Chatham Maritime

Clear

Description

Our 1 hour Medway River Trip is the perfect way to get an introduction to barge sailing, whilst taking in the historic sights of the upriver Medway.

With a maximum of 12 passengers per trip, the crew are happy to engage and share the history of Thames sailing barges and specifically, the beautiful ‘Edith May’.

This stretch of the river oozes with history and sailing from Chatham Maritime Marina, there will be plenty to see as the barge heads up river towards Sun Pier, passing Upnor Castle (scene of the Dutch raid of 1667), the Copper Rivet Gin Distillery, Chatham Historic Dockyard and the historic vessels contained within this vast museum.

A Thames sailing barge is the ideal platform to experience these sights from, with plenty of deck space and a comfortable hold to explore. There used to be thousands of barges on this stretch of river and now there is only one.

You will be invited to lend a hand setting the sails and are welcome to take a turn at the wheel – a rare chance to handle a large vessel under sail.

Once aboard, refreshments are available to purchase, including hot and cold drinks, a selection of coastal beers, kent wines and local spirits.

Running during May half term and on select dates throughout the summer holiday, you can choose between the 1100 or 1300 sailing time for your Medway River Trip.

Before booking, please read the General Information page.

If you have any questions, please contact us

Additional information

Choose a day

Tue 26th May, Wed 27th May, Thu 28th May, Fri 29th May, Tue 4th Aug, Wed 5th Aug, Thu 6th Aug, Mon 24th Aug, Tue 25th Aug, Wed 26th Aug

Time

1100, 1300